The International Energy Agency

Established in 1974 in response to the oil crisis, the International Energy Agency (IEA) is the energy forum for 26 industrialised countries. It is an autonomous intergovernmental entity within the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) to ensure the energy security of industrialised nations.

The IEA's objectives include improving the world energy supply and demand structure, more efficient use of energy, and developing alternative energy sources to reduce dependence on any one source. The Energy Statistics Division (ESD) of the IEA collects, processes and publishes data and information on energy production, trade, stocks, transformation, consumption, prices and taxes as well as on greenhouse gas emissions. The geographical coverage of IEA's statistics includes the 30 OECD Member countries and over 100 non-OECD countries world-wide.

 Users can access the following IEA databases via the UK Data Service:

  • CO2 Emissions from Fuel Combustion
  • Coal Information
  • Natural Gas Information
  • Electricity information
  • Oil Information
  • Energy Prices and Taxes
  • World Energy Statistics and Balances
  • Renewables Information
  • IEA Energy Technology Research and Development Database


Back to top